help

discussion
Default_user
about 6 years ago

I'm brand new to the bat detective project.

Is there a little youtube or other clip showing a tutorial on how the sounds are supposed to be highlighted, submitted and identified? I would like to see this being done to a complex sonogram at least once before I attempt the same. Otherwise I really don't know if I am doing the right thing. For example - there are MANY individual sounds/clicks etc on one sonogram - do I "box" each one individually?

For example - the first sonogram I see would appear to be of a bat that is searching (there are a number of higher frequency "clicks") across the mid range of the sonogram, but part way through is sounds like a feeding buzz (which shows up lower down in the sonogram). Do I box the "entire range" vertically and then the "buzz sequence" AND each "individual search click" horizontally

I see that I can't create two separate boxes in step 1 - so I assume I box the "entire" range and select feeding rather than searching in step 3.

And maybe it's just me, but I would suggest you add a "Field Guide" title to the bottom half of the page or remove the word "field" - as soon as I read "field guide" I was looking for another page and expecting details on various calls from different bat species to perhaps narrow it down at bit

Also - when I "play" a sound recording the audio sounds always occur a short time "after" the vertical bar has already passed the matching highlight in the sonogram - this "shift" certainly adds some confusion - I suppose this may just be the way it is for technical reasons but it would certainly be nice they were aligned.

Default_user
about 6 years ago

Hi Doug,

Firstly, thanks for your interest in the project!